Thread: gray tree frog -- habitat questions

meganmcnerney

Default gray tree frog -- habitat questions

Hi all! I'm very new to raising frogs. Right now, I have 6 tadpoles (not sure how old, but no legs and length ranges from about 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inch). I've lost 2-3 tadpoles since Friday afternoon (5 days) when they were given to us by a friend who has a gray tree frog pond in her yard.

Okay, so here are my main questions:
    1- how often do I need to change water? I have them separated into 2 large critter keepers and their water gets dirty pretty quickly. I've done 2 1/4 water changes and one major water/tank change when I separated them 3 days ago. Water still looks dirty even though I just did a partial change.

2- how far in advance do I need to get the froglet tank ready? If all 6 survive to froglet stage, what size tank do I need for them?

3- when do I switch them to their permanent habitat and how early does that need to be ready?

4- should I be concerned that my tadpoles don't rush for their food and are fairly "lazy"? My latest tadpole death took about 2 days to die---would float on back or side and then furiously swim then dive and float back to e surface. Should I be concerned about the rest of the tads in that tank and remove them?

Anyways....I love this forum and have already found lots of into and ideas that I want to implement!
    Megan

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: gray tree frog -- habitat questions

I don't have much advice about tadpole care, but you could probably start the froglets off in a 10 gallon until they are a little bigger. Then, ideally, you should do 10 gallons per frog. I do have 4 of them in a 35 gallon though.

I am sure someone has a lot more advice about tadpole care though.
    2.0.3 Hyla versicolor "Eastern Gray Tree Frogs"
    2.2.0 Agalychnis callidryas "Red Eyed Tree Frogs"