Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about mixing frogs in a vivarium. How many & what species can be mixed?

Ribbet

Default Question about mixing frogs in a vivarium. How many & what species can be mixed?

Hello, I'm new to frogs and new to this forum. I have a 45 gallon tank and I just got a Biostream low level pump, two foggers, some wood, and an undertank heater. I still need gravel, a hydrometer/thermometer, and some lamps. If anyone has suggestions about what else I need please do post them.

I'm not decided on what frogs to get for my tank. I'd like it to be part water and part land vivarium with live plants and a small waterfall. I am thinking of getting fire bellied toads, White's tree frog (maybe called a lumpy?), and some sort of tree frog like a golden. I also like the cuban frogs. Those decisions are just based on what I've seen/read about in books and what the local chain pet store has. I live in Santa Fe and we only have one place that sells frogs. I am not rich but don't mind saving up to purchase a critter that I think is really cool. I would like to have pairs of each frog species, just so that they are not lonely, and I'd like to have about four species, so that's a total of 8 frogs in a 45 gallon tank. Any advice on what critters will mix well and look cool?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Kurt

Default Re: Question about mixing frogs in a vivarium. How many & what species can be mixed?

They frogs you listed would make horrible house mates. They are all from various places and ecosystems from around the world. Being from different places and being wild caught they will be carrying exotic pathogens that the other frogs in the enclosure will have no immunity to. At least two of them are known to be toxic.

The general rule is that you don't mix species, especially for beginners. Its just not a good idea.