Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to this site

ApxWingman

Default New to this site

Hey

I just found this site after looking up for some active forums on frogs. I am fairly new to this, I have never owned any frogs before. I am currently in the processing of building my first tank for a Whites Tree Frog. I hear these frogs are the easiest to take care of, especially for beginners. So I decided I would start with this, so that if I do make any mistakes it will be more forgivable then a more delicate species.

My tank is currently a 20 gallon tank that I got online for a very cheap price. So far I have used eggcrate to make a false bottom, covered with a matting to stop the soil from falling into the water. I have used great stuff expanding foam to secure it to the back of the take to provide something to climb on. I also have a large rock that for climbing as well, and I found a fake log with fake plants on it that has also been mounted for climbing surfaces.

For a water feature I was able to get a waterfall kit online as well for cheap, that comes with a pump. I have put that in the tank along with other rocks in the water, as I know these frogs are not the best of swimmers so I do not want to have the chance of him dying in the water. I am currently waiting for the great stuff to cure before I continue to shape the background and proceed with using GE Silicone II and cocofiber for the background. From there I will then add the substrate and water.

After the tank is complete I am going to let it run for atleast a week before I get my frog to make sure everything is running smoothly with the temperature and humidity. I want to make sure its running perfectly before I get him to make it easier on me to get it fixed without him being in the way.