Thread: The Study of Moss

bshmerlie

Default The Study of Moss

I've been talking about doing a study on some different types of moss so here it is. I have it in a 20 gallon tank. I have a clay background on the sides and soil on the bottom. I am using to Exo Terra 2.0 repti glow bulbs. Right now the lighting is on for 12 hours a day. I have three different types of mosses going right now. These three mosses were supplied by Joshs Frogs. Please check his website for pricing and availability. I am going to say up front I am not an expert on Moss or its care so I would appreciate any advice or instructions from those who have successfully kept it. All to often I hear about people killing their moss or it turns brown and they replace it. I have the tank with just the moss right now so it will have full access to light. At somepoint if it all still looks good I am going to create shaded areas and see how that is going to affect the moss under it. I am also going to be giving my opinions of how it feels and moisture retention. These will just be my opinions and you can take them as you will. I will also take some of each moss and secure it to some wood so see if it grows. So here we go:

The Moss on the left is GREEN TREE MOSS (shag moss)- As you can tell Josh gives you a lot of it. I doesn't stick as well to the clay as the other moss because it is more stringy and doesn have a backing. It is also browner than the other moss. To me it would be a better ground cover although crickets can get lost in it. It retains moisture very well.