Thread: White tree frogs humidity?

abeechingmassage

Question White tree frogs humidity?

I am new to frog care, i reserched and got an adult whites tree frog, I am interested in humidity information.... i live in Alberta, Cananda and i always have low humidity despite hydroballs and coveing 3/4 the tank with glass. i still must mist every few hours or it drops to 30%. any suggestions?

Default Re: White tree frogs humidity?

It's very hard to have such low humidity.You must live in a very dry place. Do you use soil? How large of a water dish do you have? The more full the tank is (with decor, plants, vines), the more humidity you'll have.

bshmerlie

First make sure you are using an accurate digital humidity gauge. The dial ones may not be reliable. Next you could add more live plants that usually work along with some moss for the ground. If your still having trouble you can purchase a fogger. I use the reptifogger for inbetween mistings. It work well and gives me piece of mind.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Is there a light on that is providing heat? In the daytime, a lamp that puts off heat will dry things out quickly. If you can get away with a compact florescent bulb it may dry out less. This will depend on the how your keeping your temps up.

Live plants such as bromeliads also help keep humidity up.

I usually have to mist twice daily and the lowest mine gets is about 50 percent.
    You may also want to compare your humidity gauge to another one since they are not usually the most accurate things.

Pics of the setup may help someone provide other ideas too,
    1.0.0 Red Eyed Leaf/ Frog - Agalychnis callidryas
    1.1.1 Bumblebee Dart Frog - Dendrobates leucomelas
    1.1.0 Dendrobates truncatus - Yellow Striped
    1.1.1 Dendrobates tinctorius – Bakhuis Mountain
    1.1.0 - Dendrobates tinctorius - Powder Blue
    1.1.0 - Ranitomeya vanzolinii

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries