Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Make your own viv?

Kerry1968

Default Make your own viv?

I have a query.

I have an unused tank that is approximately 30"x12"x12".
    I would like to make it into a vertical vivarium, but I'm not sure if it's actually possible.

I need a high humidity viv, with a little ventilation. I need a lot of climbing area as this will be for my crested gecko and in the future I might turf him out to another viv and use it for a tree frog.

My thought is, if I block off the bottom 6 inches with a piece of something (perhaps wood) siliconed in, then put some glass runners on this I could then have sliding glass doors. Then on the top more runners with a space above with mesh for ventilation. I am trying to work out if sliding doors would work as the whole width is only 12 inches, so I would have very narrow doors. Perhaps try to hinge a glass door in some way?

I've never done this kind of thing before and wonder if I am going into the realms of fantasy with this idea!

The size of the tank would be just ideal for a vertical, jungle type habitat though.

I would really welcome your input on this, thank you.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Make your own viv?

In the simplest, you could put small legs oon the bottom, and silicone on about a 3 to 6 inch high peice of glass or plexiglass (don't use wood) and then get a screen top with a door, they usually come with cjips and will clip on, or you might find a sliding screen top. Then you can make the opening the side access port.

into

I currently use a tank turned on it's side for my quarantine tank, but I have yet to work out the open part of it. Right now I'm just using a piece of eggcrate cut just right to keep her from getting out.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums