Thread: Observations on captive Pseudacris triseriata

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Observations on captive Pseudacris triseriata

A few folks have pm'ed me about keeping these little frogs. Sadly, I am new to frog keeping, and am learning as I go along. Some of the advice I offered a while back via PM's has since proven to be slightly different from what I stated. There does not seem to be much information on captive care of the adults of this species.

In this thread I will basically keeping an open journal on habits, feeding and behavior I have observed. Please add to this information if you have any. These little guys are very interesting and active pets.

Please forgive me for not using metric, I have to get this stuff typed out before I forget it, doing conversions slows me down too much, and a hillbilly farm school education makes it very hard for me to think in metric...

Here is what I have so far, please keep in mind these are all personal observations.

Habitat: In the wild, habitat type seems dependent on ambient average temperature. In cooler temperatures (45-65ºF) these frogs prefer to be in the water. Warmer temperatures with high humidity (above 50%) and they become semi-arboreal and terrestrial. Early in the year (March in Nebraska), when there is still snow and ice, males begin calling in permanent ponds and continue to do so into late April. Calls are heard around the clock! All calling is done while in the water either from submerged plants or at water's edge.

By summer, the frogs appear to be absent from the breeding ponds and adults and new morphs (started seeing morphs that still had tail stumps end of June to early July 500 yards+ from water) can be found in areas of tall grasses and low bushes during times of high humidity (like after a storm) as far as a mile from the ponds. No calling has been noted. Just after sunrise on days of heavy dew they are abundant.