Thread: Frog Hibernation

FrogMom1

Default Frog Hibernation

Hi all -
    I have a couple of California tree frogs in a terrarium in my house. I'm not a frog expert, but need to know if I need to set up arrangements for them to hibernate over the wintertime - would appreciate any help you can send.
    Also, is there a way to get the frogs to sleep at night and not croak? Turns out, little frogs have BIG VOICES - lol!
    Thanks very much! Will look forward to hearing back - am new to this forum, but would appreciate any help available. 8-)

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

bshmerlie

Default Re: Frog Hibernation

Are you talking about the California Tree Frog (Pseudacris Cadaverina)? They are not found that far up North. Or are you talking about the Pacific Chorus Frog (Pseudacris Regilla)? They would be found up in your area. Did you catch them or purchase them? There is a care sheet on the Pacific Chorus Frog on the left side of the website. If you are keeping frogs inside in a temperature controlled environment you will not need to hibernate them. The frogs "little" voices is what makes them so fun to have as pets. It's like bringing a natural sound machine into your home. People pay good money for those, but think of it.. your little frogs will sing you to sleep everynight. Why don't you post some pictures of them and their enclosure so we can see what frogs you have and if they are setup properly? We love pictures here.

charlamanda

Default Re: Frog Hibernation