Thread: Pdf care/ dont want babies

1clovergirl

Default Pdf care/ dont want babies

Hello, I am new to the world of dart frogs. I have read anything and everything regarding them but I haven't found any information dealing with not wanting frogs to breed. I know that it is almost impossible to sex them, so what do you do when you don't want to be responsible for the care of baby frogs? I don't really just want to have one frog but I don't want babies either. Any help or suggestions will greatly be appreciated. Thank you for your time and help.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Tony

Default Re: Pdf care/ dont want babies

Unless you keep a single frog or same sex group they will breed.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

I would also add that female tinctorius and male pumilios (as well as other species) will fight and intimidate one another to the point where you'll lose the less dominant frog(s) eventually. I've never had terrilibus, but have heard that they do well in groups. I would imagine a group of males would work. They are also one of the most bold dart frog species.

Another option would be to get a pair that someone has had for a few years that has never successfully bred. My first pair of azureus (see avatar) are three years old and stopped producing eggs two years ago. The female suffered some kind of seizures a while ago and seems to have lost the ability to produce eggs. She is perfectly healthy, but I doubt she'll every produce eggs again. I'm not saying that I'd want to part with the pair, but I am also running out of room and could use the viv they are in for a breeding pair.
    I used to think that I had to understand in order to believe, then I realized that I must believe in order to understand - Augustine

Nelson

Why don't you just give the babies away? keep the parents and give the babies, i'm sure that someone here in the forum would accept them

P.S. JimO i love your azureus they're simply awesome