Thread: Need help identifying?

Shannon821

Default Need help identifying?

We found this frog at one of my husband's costumers house, outside. My husband wants to give it to my son as a pet to take care of. I have never had a tree frog before so this is all new to me. From pictures we thought he might be a grey tree frog but, we are not positive. Would really appreciate some help with identifying this little guy or girl. Also, do you think this tree frog is an appropriate pet for a 6 yr old?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

charlamanda

Default Re: Need help identifying?

WOW. what a nice chubby specimen!!! I agree I think it is a Gray Tree frog. I am definately not the expert here, but I have so many around here that it's the only frog that I have some knowledge on. From what I have learned about these guys they are very hardy and fairly easy frogs to have as pets(as far as frogs go). It maybe a bit more than a 6 year old to care for though, but I am sure you'll be doing most of the caring,LOL. From the size and girth it looks like an adult female..but just a guess. There is a great care sheet on this site for Gray Tree frogs and lots of people to ask for advice and help. Good Luck with your new froggy.

charlamanda

If you can, post a few more pics to help with sexing and better identification.
    I don't know how you posted it last time, but use the manage attachments so the pic comes up as a thumbnail. It's easier to open. BTW it took me a bit to figure things out and had lots of help, if you need any I'll do my best.

Shannon821

Do both the females and males make noises? While hubby was bringing it home, the make shift cage fell over and the frog croaked loudly. It hasn't made any other noises since. It did eat a moth that flew into it's box last night. We will be going out today to get it some food and a new home.

Shannon821

Quote Originally Posted by charlamanda View Post