Thread: Biol. teacher from the Netherlands

Nationality
    [Netherlands]
    Blog Entries

Default Biol. teacher from the Netherlands

Hi,

My name is Michiel and I'm a biology teacher from the Netherlands. I'm in the process of buying and setting up a vivarium for White's Tree Frogs. I also have an interest in botany so I'm planning to add plants from northern Australia to the tank.

At the moment I'm also researching how easy it is to raise Dubia as a food source and how big/small the risk of infestation would be if they ever got out.

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United Kingdom]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Biol. teacher from the Netherlands

Hi Michiel

If you haven't got it already, I'd recommend you get AVS Tree Frogs as it is a great read. Note that in the book it says Whites can be kept without any lighting (UVB), however since then the author has suggest that they UVB is the best source of D3.

It will take a while for a roach colony to be established enough to feed out to hungry whites but otherwise easy to set up. Roaches do best at warm temperatures and with humidity for breeding, however I have found a large roach in my house months after feeding my toad one, so they're pretty hardy. You can keep them in plastic rubs, with a heat mat on the bottom connected to a thermostat, moist coir or moss substrate and some cardboard egg crates, food etc. Crickets are my favourite source of food and will die quite quickly if they don't have access to food, water or moderately warm temperatures.

3. This member thanks jasonm96 for this post:

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries

Hi and welcome
    It took a long while for my dubias to become ready to breed but they are a good secondary source of food for my two White's. If I had more of them they might be a good primary source. The dubias have been easy to supply with food though.