Thread: Pacman Tadpole Setup

Question Need Help With Pacman Tadpole Setup

Hello Everyone!

I am very new to this.I have wanted a true pet frog for a long time now. As a summer project for the kids we allow them to catch a toad or tadpoles and keep them in my terrarium for the summer then release them before school starts up. This summer we rescued some Grey Tree frog tadpoles from our pool. We placed them in a dish in the terrarium and raised them up and released the froglets! It was soooooo much fun watching the tadpoles grow and metamorph into frogs and got us thinking a little harder about getting some pacmans.

I wanted some colorful ones that the boys would be able to see easily and haven't been able to find any good ones at our local pet stores. I began to search online and stumbled upon a good breeder with tadpoles available and we ordered some. They are due to arrive next week. I have been trying to do a bunch of research and establish a setup long before they arrive .

I have found a lot of info on pacman frog setups, but not so much about tadpole setups. I did read that they should be seperated and jars work? I set up some jars on a flat and have filled them about 2 inches deep with water that I treated with a conditioner for amphibians. I also read that they may need to be kept at a warmer temp. Our home stays around 70-73. I read that the daytime temp should be around 85? So, I was thinking of placing an insulated heat pad under the flat and using a probe thermometer to monitor the water temp. I was wondering if any of this info is accurate, and if this setup will work for my tadpoles? Also, I wanted to know if they need any kind of plant material in the jars? I read that some tadpoles need something floating to attach to or almond/oak leaves in the water for tannins? I hope someone can set me straight and get these tadpoles off to a good start!

Thanks!
    Last edited by Radical Ribbits; November 26th, 2015 at 07:19 PM.

2. # ADS