Thread: Springtail question?

Nationality
    [Canada]

Default Springtail question?

Hello everyone, have a couple quick questions to ask and hopeing someone can help me out. So today I bought a culture of springtails for my firebelly toad tank and this is my first time using these in a tank. My first question is I don't plan to add them till tomorrow because I have few things to do in the tank before hand so im wondering were the best place to store them till tomorrow would be, I don't want to kill them. Now my next question is the culture is in a container with abunch of wood chips and stuff, almost looks like dirt and mulch. The guy at the store said to just dump it in but I don't want the frogs to ingest any of the small pieces if debris, and by the looks of it there is some small wood slivers that are bound to be ingested. I took about half of the tub and just dumped it in one corner to see if the springtails would venture off into the tank but a majority of them stayed in the pile. Is there something I could put in another container to draw them out of the one they are in so I don't have to dump all these shavings in then have to try and get it all out. The half a container I put in the corner I have took out because the firebellies were all over it and I didn't want to take a chance.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Springtail question?

Suggestion.
    Flood the culture, springtails will float. Then either collect them with a spoon or just dump that water into where you need it to be. You won't be able to transfer all springs, but you shouldn't. Keep it as a master culture, this way you have constant supply of springs. It's hard to kill them, I'm assuming they are in a deli cup, right? Then if you open a lid like every 2-3 days and feed them ( yeast, special mix) they will be alive and multiplying like there's no tomorrow