Thread: New to the land aspect of things

thedigitale

Post New to the land aspect of things

I've been keeping freshwater and reef tanks for many years now, and installed a pond in my yard last year, so I'm pretty familiar with the water side of things, but I've wanted to explore combining water and land in a tank for awhile now. My wife and I went to an orchid show last weekend, and I finally decided to start planning my paludarium.

Here's my plan:

I'm going to start with a 29g tank and hope to have 1 moth orchid as the dramatic centerpiece of the tank. Frogs aren't my main concern right now, as I want to make sure that the tank is stable before I put animals in, but eventually I'd like to add 2 dart frogs. Beyond that, I'll most likely add a handful of neon tetras to keep the water interesting.

I'm planning on having both a mister / rainmaker and a fogger, if for no reason other than the fact that I love the look of them (and the sound of the rain), and if I get adventurous, I'll add a waterfall feature. (I built one for the pond, so it can't be that much different building one in a tank.)

Any advice or helpful build threads anyone wants to point me towards would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise I'll be doing a lot of reading over the next few days and hopefully jumping in shortly. Feel free to tell me that this is way too advanced to start with or that I'm insane... It probably won't deter me, but at least I'll know what I'm getting myself into.

Default New to the land aspect of things