Thread: Newish Amphibian Keeper

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Newish Amphibian Keeper

Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to the hobby (though I did keep White's tree frogs for a few months two years ago before trading them for amblypygids and mantids at a local expo), but am interested in what this hobby has to offer. I'm a very active member of the invertebrate hobby (I'm currently keeping ~56 species of insects and arachnids), but have always wanted to be a part of the other half of the "weird people" hobby, as some of my friends put it. My roommate is also a keeper, but his only amphibian experience has been with a pacman frog. He has several reptiles though, which are quite interesting all in themselves.

I'm planning on going to NARBC Tinley Park tomorrow and may end up purchasing an amphibian of some sort (most likely a frog). I've been researching poison dart frogs pretty heavily the last couple months, but I'll just be going to drool over those since I can't really give them the set up they require at this point. Instead, I've been looking at bumble bee toads. I like the coloration and the fact that they are diurnal. They also sound pretty active, which is a huge plus. From what I've been reading on the care sheets both here and on Josh's Frogs, along with some of the threads people have started here, they sound pretty hardy and care is simple as long as I pay attention to a few basic requirements (humidity, proper food size, etc.). For some of my small spiderlings, I've had to culture fruit flies and I regularly put isopods in with some of my roaches and tarantulas that need higher humidity, so those things shouldn't be a problem. I have various enclosures of all sizes I can put them in, anywhere from a 16 oz deli cup (which I would never use except for transport) up to a 5 gallon glass enclosure.

Any thoughts, advice, notes, etc. will be happily read! Glad to be part of the forum!

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums