Thread: What Roaches worth breeding for Pixie frog?

Rattus Knits

Default What Roaches worth breeding for Pixie frog?

So I know there are a few forums with similar things to this but it's usually for the pacman frogs and since I'm new to froggies I figured i'd ask. So I have a pixie frog, a bit smaller than a baseball right now, who is eating cricket, an occasional mouse, meal worms and I just bought earth worms (only had him like 2 weeks). For right now this is fine and I don't mind the $10 or so a week for food and I keep some canned grasshoppers on hand in case I run out, but when he starts eating more I was thinking about a roach colony. What species is best for the Pixies? I've been reading about the dubia, but also saw mention of a couple others. What do you guys think/use? Also a good link for it too if possible.
    Thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Hello and welcome, Rattus

Dubia roaches are an easy roach colony to keep and will save you money once it's multiplying.

I'm not a fan of mealworms, as their segments are made of chitin and will not break down when the frog digests them. It can lead to intestinal obstructions.

Night crawlers and earth worms from a safe, clean source are the best staple foods.

Dubias are great too, especially if you feed them fresh fruits and orange and leafy-green veggies .

Congrats on your new frog!

Have you found our care sheet section?
    https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203589094112277&id=1363241107&set =a.1434844115446.2055312.1363241107&source=11&ref= bookmark

Nationality
    [United States]

Repashy also makes a canned food in which you make rolled balls for them to eat. It's actually very nutritious and great to keep around when the weather is bad and it's hard to get worms and insects.

Some frogs will take the Repashy via tong feeding.