Thread: first time pacman owner needs help

Frogger the pacman

Default first time pacman owner needs help

So im new to owning frogs and while i did a lot of reasearch first im still a bit unsure. So i got my pacman frog Frogger on my birthday yesterday and gave him 2 or 3 freeze dried crickets which i plan to use as a treat of sorts since his main food will be nightcrawlers. He ate them with gusto and i was happy and he chirpped which was super cute. Today i tried to feed him a nightcrawler in the morning and at night and he didnt want food, i even tried the crickets but nothing. He is in a 10 gallon tank with the proper set up of coconut fiber bedding , some fake plants , some moss and a water dish plenty big enough for him. He also has his heating pad under his tank. The humidity i keep at least at 80 and the air temp is between 70 and 75. Any help and pointers would be helpful

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default first time pacman owner needs help

Hello and welcome to the frog forum!

Nightcrawlers are a good choice for pacmans

Many frogs do take a while to become accustomed to eating in a new environment. I wouldn't worry too much right now.

Temperature should be 80-83 during the day and 75-77 at night so be sure to bring those up.

Humidity should be 70-80%

I suggest placing the heat pad on the side instead of the bottom. The frogs burrow in order to cool off and if they find another source of heat, it will cause stress and could even burn the frog.

Make sure that water is treated with dechlorinator and that you are dusting his food with calcium powder every other feeding and multivitamins once a week.

I also advise ditching the moss. If swallowed is a risk of impaction (blocked intestine) and can kill your frog .

Here is a caresheet for more info on the husbandry.

Good luck!

Frog Forum - Pacman and Horned Frogs - Ceratophrys - Care and Breeding

Litoria