Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Environmental control questions

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Environmental control questions

I am new to the hobby and still very much in the research phase. I got a 60 gallon 24x24x24 tank for Christmas. I am looking at keeping a few dart frogs, maybe 6 or so, into a living viv. I have a couple question concerning the designing the hardscape, plumbing and other environment considers. From what I have read there seems to be a balance between ventilation and humidity and temperature.

1. Since the aquarium I have is solid glass, should incorporate ventilation fan(s), probably a computer fan, into the top of the living viv?

2. I am planning on incorporating a false bottom for drainage and maintaining humidity. Should I still add some sort of misting/rain system and/or a pond into the design?

3. Are there any specific recommendations for thermometers and hydrometers?

4. Would installing an automated system to control the viv environment be smart or recommended? Any thoughts?

Thank you for any information and recommendations.

John

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Default Re: Environmental control questions

welcome to the very confusing and addicting hobby of frogging! i answer your questions best i can:

1. a fan is not a requirement, unless, you plan on keeping orchids in the tank, in which case, they would need a fan for air circulation. otherwise, it's an option. it will help keep your glass clear at the very least.

2. totally up to you. but if you have live plants in the tank, you will have to mist daily, at the very least. a pond is all your decision. the frogs won't require it, it is mainly for aesthetics.

3. i like using the cheapo glass thermometers for aquariums. as far as a hygrometer, if you are going to use one, do yourself a favor and get a decent digital one.