Thread: Pacman Frog aquarium background?!?

chrisvela91

Default Pacman Frog aquarium background?!?

Im going to be getting a pacman frog within the next couple of days. For the meantime I've been setting up the terrarium. I want to put an aquarium background on the back. Just as you would for a fish tank. My question is are aquarium backgrounds heat resistant? Because, I want to place a zoo med under tank heater on back of it as well. Since, placing it under the terrarium can burn the frog. And I don't want to burn my pacman frog's belly. Hopefully, someone may answer my question. I'm actually new to frog forum. Thanks in advance guys!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Pacman Frog aquarium background?!?

Yo whatsup dude when I made my enclosure I cut the part of the backround piece out that the tank heater was on because the heat wouldnt go through the glass and backround. its been working great and I still get the full strentgh of the UTH

Nationality
    [Canada]

UTH are 4W or 8W... they cannot possibly burn a frog!!! This doesn't make em any good tho... they're quite expensive for the heat they emit (they can't emit much cause that would be dangerous).
    Major problem about burrowing frog and a UTH tho is that it destroy the frog's logic! A frog will burrow more and more, if it's too hot for them. They burrow to reach cold! So with UTH, the frog will endlessly try to burrow itself...
    Placing a UTH on the back of the tank is a waste of money too...
    It is really important for a pacman frog to have good temperature tho because they will have digestive issues if temp is in low 70s for say.
    If you can't give em a good 80, you will want to heat em up by one of those 2 ways; best one imo, is to raise temperature in the room they're at. I am assuming you have a CFL bulbs for lighting purposes on top of the tank? Room temperature a bit higher along with the CFL should bring you close to 80.