Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi

GotCrabs

Default Hi

Hi, I'm pretty new to frogs, so have no real idea of what to do but am slowly learning, I got my Mum 2 Green Tree Frogs a little while back a long with a set up and have just recently in the last week noticed the behaviour of one of them becoming different and it's got me puzzled, the set up is a medium sized tank with 2 pieces of driftwood, some fake plants, some shagnum moss, large river pebbles and a water bowl, the bowl has distilled water in it and I spray them around 3/4 times a day with distilled water, each frog gets 1 or 2 crickets a day, lights are on for 8 hours each day, but the last week one frog has become real active, roaming all over his tank/enclosure, trying to dig into the shagnum moss, in and out of the water and climbing all over the place, just seems out of the blue to me that's all, he's mental, just hops all around the place all night and is real active, also the shagnum moss is damp so no dramas with moisture in the enclosure, is it something to be worried about, or is he just being a frog? the other frog is real relaxed, calm and sits around just taking it easy.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Hi

Welcome to Frog Forum

*May I suggest any pebble that could possibly fit into the frog's mouth be removed

*The frog's soaking dish MUST have de-clorinated tap water- as the distilled water has no minerals and will eventually cause health problems for the frog.

(purchase any amphibian safe water de-chlorinator ie Aquatize made by exo-terra)
    -They should NOT be sprayed directly with distilled water--- use the distilled to keep the humidity level in-check but don't' spray the frogs.

*Remove the sphagnum moss as this is a very, very common cause of intestinal obstruction.

-The roaming activity is sometimes due to stress ?