Thread: Injured american toad

sydcersos

Default Injured american toad

About 2 1/2 weeks ago I found an American toad (I named him Freddy!) on his back not moving. I noticed he was faintly breathing so I flipped him over and put him in a bowl of water. After a little bit he was moving his back legs but not his front. He still can't move them. He couldn't get food so I've been feeding him 2-3 small crickets a day. He does get around but his arms end up twisted. I don't know what happened to him! But for the last 2-3 days, he's been wanting to be in realllllly dark places and has been sleeping a lot. Also, I think one of his fingers are cut :/ I'm not really sure what to do... I have him in a big container with a hiding place (where I think he cut himself) and a water bowl, I have to put him in there because he can't get in himself.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

DogStar

Default Re: Injured american toad

I'm still pretty new to American Toads but from what I've read they are pretty resilient. I would say to leave him alone as much as possible to avoid any more stress (besides feeding). I would also read the care article here on these toads as well. Of course the best thing would be to take him to a vet but besides that I think you just have to see if he pulls out of this and heals himself. Keep a moist area close to him if hes having a hard time getting to water.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Injured american toad

Hello and welcome to FF! From description appears toad suffered an injury involving it's front feet. Only way of telling; is to take it to herp vet for x-rays. Here are a couple of locators if going that way: Arav and Herp Vet Connection. Also, here is link to care article: Frog Forum - Toad Basics - Keeping ground-dwelling Toads. A care sheet for Bufo, Anaxyrus, Spea, Scaphiopus, Ollotis, Alytes, Pelobates.