Thread: UTH and the Drainage Layer

Keeshe

Default UTH and the Drainage Layer

Hi there,

New to this forum.

I know there have been a number of threads on this topic but I was hoping that I could get a more specific answer.

I am pretty new to this frog stuff. I am trying to set up a great place for my Whites Tree Frogs. I currently have a 24x24x18 Exo Terra. I was following the advise from the videos posted by LLLReptile have place a UTH on the bottom of my tank, and have a thick layer of the coconut fiber Eco Earth on top of it. The enclosure includes a mix of live plants (on the front and opposite side of the UTH) and fake plants (over the UTH). The frogs also have two soaking bowls on opposite ends of the tank (in the front), but on the other side of the UTH (in the back right side). There is no (planned) standing water in the enclosure other than the two bowls and the waterfall.

So here is the problem, I also have a Repti Rapids waterfall, that seems to occasionally leak and make my substrate a little swampy. I believe the problem with the waterfall is that there is a little piece of sponge at the top that slips out slightly every once and while and touches one of the sides of the waterfall, allowing water to spill out. Thus coconut fiber swamp ensues. I plan on calling Zoomed tomorrow and seeing if that sponge is needed or if it can removed.

Thus far have not had any problems with UTH and any cracked glass due to this leakage, which bring me to the question (sorry for the long winded build up).

With a set up like this, is a drainage layer needed / would it be helpful? If so, any advise on a safe way to set one up with the UTH where it is?

Thank you!

p.s. this forum is amazing and has been a huge help with preventing stupid mistakes before they happen. My Whites thank you all.

Here is a picture of their enclosure.
    Name:  10641302_10101476672473593_3840363937877512837_n.jpg
Views: 436
Size:  88.3 KB

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality