Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Frogs

lnaminneci

Default New to Frogs

Hello! I am new to the care of frogs.
    I have two little Pacific Chorus Frogs living in my potted ice plants outside.

Quick questions for you guys, if I may. Sorry for my noviceness(is that a word?)
    What does "gut-load" a cricket mean? Do they really eat 50-70 fruit flies per frog every other day? WOW!!

What is the life span of a Pacific Chorus Frog?

Thanks for any comments!

Jace

Default Re: New to Frogs

These are great and amazing little frogs. I stumbled upon them quite by accident myself, and I have literally fallen head over heals for these guys and their amazing calls. To answer your questions:

Gut-loading is when you feed crickets high quality food so that when the frogs eat the crickets, they are getting the best possible protein and not just empty calories. For instance, I feed my crickets a variety of fruit and vegetables as well as a bit of cat food 12-24 hours before I feed them to my frogs. I then dust them with calcium powder and my frogs have a great meal on six legs that they can't resist. As for eating that many fruit flies every other day, I wouldn't be surprised if 2 adult Pacific Chorus Frogs could pack that away-these frogs love a good meal, but it seems a bit high for each frog to eat that much. It would definitely be a chubby frog!

I am not sure how long these guys live for. Paul from NW Amphibian Rescue would have a better idea. To guess, I would say approximately 3 years, give or take.

Paul Rust

Very good answers Jo-Anna. Just a bit more here, They live around 6 years in captivity. Fruit flies are a bit small for adults, I feed them for snacks but small and medium crickets should be the staple diet. They are little piggies and will over eat so just feed them enough to keep that chubby belly.

Jace