Thread: Prolapse! Tongue or stomach

Naturaltanks13Dst

Default Prolapse! Tongue or stomach

So I screwed up today, and gave my frog a worm that was too big. He began to choke, and pull on the worm with no success! I noticed this, and placed a finger on the worm he pulled back and out came the worm. Some pink tissue also came out! I've heard of frogs regurgitating their stomachs in certain cases, that this happens often, and the frogs are usually just fine. Well he got it back down, and there was not alot of it to start with. However, he now looks like ****! Is he going to die? Should I leave him alone? Should I not feed him? If so, how long?

I'm relying only on internet sources, as I have no vets (with Herp experience) in my area for about 100 miles! Any help is greatly appreciated!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

WorldClassFrogCoddler

Default Re: Prolapse! Tongue or stomach

First off, I'm no expert. You need to wait for one of them to give you a thorough reply, not me. That said, your description that the frog looks like **** now isnmt very helpful. you must describe exactly what seems different about your frog now. take your time, observe the frog, think about how to phrase it and describe it, then put down a good description. The more information you give, the greater a chance someone can help you. i really hope it all works out buddy. my rat just broke his foot an hour ago so I know exactly how you feel.

another thing I thought of is, how do you know he was choking? have you fed it worms many times in the past, or is this a new experience. i ask because my frog takes it's time swallowing worms sometimes, and uses his front arms to straighten the worm out so it goes down smoothly. are you sure that's not what the frog was doing? have you seen videos of other people feeding their frogs worms? how was this incident different?

good luck!

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums