Thread: Would it be alright for a bath w/o honey

MikeIsGreen

Default Would it be alright for a bath w/o honey

Hey guys and gals! I was going to change out lil bruisers substrate this evening and I thought I would give him his 1st soak/bath. I don't have any honey or a chance to get any today. Can I just give him a 78 degree soak w/o honey? I haven't seen any surface poop, so there might be some buried. To my knowledge he hasn't gone in a few weeks. I'm having trouble getting to eat his crickets. I'm not a cricket expert, but the crickets I have now look different than ones in the past and they are a lot faster. Should I remove their hind legs? Thanks everyone

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Would it be alright for a bath w/o honey

Yes, use a bath of about 80'F warm dechlorinated water. And yes, pulling off the back leg or legs can help.

Cool name! My fantasy is also named Bruiser .
    https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203589094112277&id=1363241107&set =a.1434844115446.2055312.1363241107&source=11&ref= bookmark

WorldClassFrogCoddler

Default Re: Would it be alright for a bath w/o honey

I don't pull the legs off my crickets, I just move my frog to a small tupperware container and put the crickets in with them. They have no room to wander away from the frog, so he is free to eat them whenever he wants. I usually put him in a dark closet with them at night. I come back in 30 minutes and he has eaten all of them usually.

But, if your frog is impacted, maybe you shouldn't feed him any more until it passes. Maybe that's why his feeding response is lowered. You should get honey as soon as you can, but until then, warm baths with dechlorinated water, preferably treated tap water, should help him feel better.

My frog hates being bathed but again, small tupperware container with air holes in the top. He can't get away even though he hates it. He still gets a good soak.