Thread: My new Azureus :) Need some help with setup and care

ukfan1976

Default My new Azureus :) Need some help with setup and care

Yesterday, I purchased my first Azureus! He's so tiny! I got the entire set up from a guy selling his vivarium set up (with the frog) who could not keep it any more. Included with the set up was a fully set up vivarium (12"x12"x16") with soil (complete with a colony of isopods), substrate, rock features, back wall formation, little pool bowl, plants, light, active fruit fly culture, and Repti-Fogger. I'll attach pics below.

So to be honest I'm a complete noob and stumbled up on this deal and jumped on it. I had been considering getting a dart frog for a little while and had done a little bit of research, but I must say now that I have him I have a TON of questions! Hopefully y'all can help me out.

First, I kinda don't like the terrarium he's in. I'm considering buying one of the Exo Terra or Zoo Med terrariums with the front doors and the bottom that will hold water. How difficult would it be to transplant the soil, substrate, rocks, etc into a new terrarium and would it totally stress out the little guy?

Second, if I change to a new terrarium, would I be able to keep the current soil (with the established isopod colony)? They seem to be thriving.

Third - Can anyone tell me what type of plants I have? Sorry to be such a noob but I'm really interested in doing this right and researching what I've got so far.

Fourth - If I get a new terrarium, would creating a waterfall or a small pool (not the bowl kind) be a bad idea? I know dart frogs aren't aquatic, but if I ensure he can get in and out of the water easily so he doesn't drown would this be OK?

Also - is the repti fogger necessary? I like it, but how often should it be used, etc. and how much ventilation does the little guy need?

Sorry for all the questions but I would value your feedback! I've attached several pics.
    Attached Images Attached Images       

2. # ADS