Thread: Tips on Discoglossus pictus raising

Discopictus

Default Tips on Discoglossus pictus raising

Hi!

Well, I'm new here and seems that I need some help I'm doing research with Discoglossus pictus in lab (with the larvae), and we'd like to see if I can make them grow, cause the others ones that tried, weren't succesful (the frogs died all the times). I have experience in keeping reptiles, but although I like amphibians, haven't kept, so I'm not a completely newbie in taking care of herps.
    The thing is I would like to ask for some tips for the keeping of the metamorphic frogs.

What I'll do, is buying some pinheads and Drosophila, Dendrobaena too. The pinheads will be dusted with calcium, and with the drosophila will try too, but with the earth worms won't, they'll be served sliced according to the size of the frog (actually, very tiny). I'll look for some springtails too, if I can get them in any shop. That's everything about the food, I'd really appreciate some comments about this, especially because it's seems to be the main reason of the dead.

Here I put 2 images, one of the size of the little froggies, and the other one is the 'tank' I have them. Any tip on that, would be fantastic!

These are not the ones in the second photo, but they are the same size.

I have the tank with no extra temp. cause they are from my country, and they do really well on low temp., but do you think it'd be bad if i put some heat on 1/10 of the tank? In the left part, only in case they want some extra heat. For the ground, I have coconout fiber (would be better if I take some soil-sand from where they actually live?), and some dried Fagus leaves.

I'm sorry for my english, and thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Tips on Discoglossus pictus raising