Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: UVA/UVB lights for tree frogs?

Ben0918

Default UVA/UVB lights for tree frogs?

i have never gotten a straight answer for this but do you need it?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

carsona246

Default Re: UVA/UVB lights for tree frogs?

I'm a relative newbie to frogs, but I'm fairly sure the answer is no, you do not need one for tree frogs. However I did purchase a heating lamp today, and was wondering if having uva/uvb will harm frogs. I realized the bulb I purchased emits uva.

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Quote Originally Posted by Ben0918 View Post
    i have never gotten a straight answer for this but do you need it?
    Straight answer - yes you need it.

Not so straight answer would be - it depends on a frog species, some frogs require high percentage of UVB, some need less.

Which tree frog species are we talking about?
    Save one animal and it doesn't change the world, but it surely changes the world for that one animal!

Ben0918

red eyes

Nationality
    [Canada]

I would use 2% UVB for red eyes.
    Save one animal and it doesn't change the world, but it surely changes the world for that one animal!

Nationality
    [United States]

Yes, Lija is right. UVB light is not required for red eyed tree frogs if using a calcium supplement with vitamin D3, but the tropical 2.0 is the correct bulb. However, live plants will need UVB for growth. Provide plants that create shade in some areas so they may protect themselves from constant exposure, if they'd like.

Now, I have a 36" tall enclosure for mine so I actually use the 5.0 bulb for the plants, but I only plant the plants up to 24" so the frogs are not directly under the light, since they perch and sleep on the branches and leaves. Lights are off at bedtime when they are active and hopping and climbing about, so no worries about burns or too high of UV exposure by being too close to the bulbs. Works well and my plants love it .