Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introducing me!

Kerry1968

Default Introducing me!

Hello, I live in the UK and I'm new to frogs. I think I've joined under false pretences though, as after receiving an introductory message from John I've found out why I haven't found my type of frog listed here, this forum is for larger frogs and mine are small!

I have two frogs I believe to be kassina senegalensis. They were sold to me as African Running frogs. Does any one here have experience of these frogs or similar?

Anyway, it's nice to be here in your little community!

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Introducing me!

Welcome! Actually you've come to the right place. That's an error in the welcome message :P. I've never kept Kassinas but from what I understand they are quite straight forward. Do you have specific questions? I bet we can field them.

Nationality
    [Ireland]

I've fixed that PM. Thanks for pointing that out Kerry.

Kerry1968

Thanks John, no particular queries. It would be nice to know about other peoples set-ups etc. I'm changing my frog tank this weekend, going to put a divider in to have a permanent (sp?) small water area. I've tried tipping the tank to have a wet end and a dry end, but it hasn't really worked, it's all wet! Also I wondered about substrate for these frogs. I've got topsoil and compost mixed, the frogs seem OK with it, but I wondered if it was a bit too dense?

Nationality
    [Ireland]

You've hit on your gradient problem in that last sentence. If the soil is too dense then the moisture just spreads throughout the whole thing. These frogs don't need it very moist so your idea about having a small permanent water area is a good one- that way you don't have to obsess about keeping the soil very moist. Do you find that they hide much? Do you have many shelters for them?

Kerry1968