Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Might get 3 cobalts, need advice please

Default Might get 3 cobalts, need advice please

Ive been talking to someone who breeds darts and I am thinking about getting 3 cobalts(they are 3 months old) from them. What size enclosure would be good for them? Can I use coco fiber? Would fake plants be OK to use until I can get them some real plants? Any help would be greatly appreciates as i am new to these guys!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

nok1888

Default Re: Might get 3 cobalts, need advice please

You should take your time and research and build your terrarium up from the start. Living terrariums (so I've read many times) need to be set up 6-8 weeks before introducing the frogs so the wee eco system has time to get up and running.

I saw 3 Azureus in a 18 x 18 x 24 at a reptile shop. I'm going for a 24w x18d x 18h to give mine enough floor space and still have some height

-------------------------------------------
    2.0 Border Collies - Jinky and Chance
    3.0 Cats - Monty, Dodger and Crunchie
    1.1 Royal Pythons Orlina and Sedrick
    0.1 BCI Boa - Aasia
    1.0 Western Hognose - Hagrid
    0.1 Bearded Dragon - iiara

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

I agree with nok1888. Build 1st.
    Plus, the frogs need to be be in a simple quarantine enclosure ( of which should be a minimum of 30 days ) anyway.
    Take your time with your build; you will get to know you frogs while they are in quarantine

A little 2.5 or 5 gallon glass tank with a glass lid , plain dampened paper towels ( de-chlorinated water), some leaf litter, a sprig of pothos plant of which will not die if it is not in soil ( prepare the plant cutting properly ! ), a VERY shallow dish for additional water droplet collection ( ie glass petri dish of which needs an extra spray of water to collect a bit in on the bottom of the dish)

ie I have had a R imitator ( juvenile ) in a quarantine set up since it was born May :