Thread: Is this a bullfrog?

jonpwn

Default Is this a bullfrog?

I found this guy living in a well by my house where i have a vent for a u-trap for my house's sewage system. i think he's a bullfrog, can't even figure out how he got there or what he eats since the well is covered by a gigantic cast-iron plate with a much-smaller-than-his-body sized opening.
    his body's about 4 inches long from head to i guess what should be his tail.

anybody know the exact name of this fella? and don't mind my silly brother with his shadow.

thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Kurt

Default Re: Is this a bullfrog?

Quote Originally Posted by jonpwn View Post
    anybody know the exact name of this fella?
    Bob, I think, but then again I haven't seen Bob since high school, so I could be wrong. Its been 28 years since I graduated.

Seriously, it's a bullfrog, Lithobates catesbeianus. The lack of dorso-lateral ridges and the fourth toe extending well beyond the webbing differentiates it from other North American Ranids such as the pig frog, Lithobates grylio.

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Colouring looks odd to me but it could be a bullfrog.
    Founder of Frogforum.net (2008) and Caudata.org (2001)

jonpwn

so he's just a common american bullfrog? Thanks for the answers, he croaks pretty loudly so I'm not sure if I want to keep him in my house.

Kurt

Quote Originally Posted by John View Post
    Colouring looks odd to me but it could be a bullfrog.
    There is quite a bit of variation in bullfrogs throughout their range, but not as radically as in a frog like Dendrobates tinctorius. The South Shore Science Center has a bullfrog on display that looks nothing like the bullfrogs that show up in my pool. When I first saw it, I thought they had mislabeled it. I later read about the variation in the species, but forget where I read it.