Thread: Which species is right for me?

MrWilmsmeyer

Default Which species is right for me?

I am a teacher setting up a 50 gal. horizontal vivarium for my classroom. It has a large water feature that empties into a little pond. It has lots of land for the pdfs and will be live-planted to the max (but there is only 12 or so vertical inches).

I am looking for something on the quieter side, bold, with bright coloring and would prefer something that eats springtails and fruit flies.

I was thinking thumbnails (R. imitator or R. ventrimaculata) but have considered B. auratus and even going the mantella route. I have been doing my research but no one really put a spreadsheet together to help make this decision easy.

Your thoughts?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Which species is right for me?

Mr. Wilmsmeyer,
    Welcome to Frog Forum.
    Yes .......this is a big decision.
    That's why most of us are never quite satisfied with just one species So you will fit right in around here.

It sounds like you are have decided on dart frogs! So that's good to have narrowed your decision to this point.
    It is a good decision, I believe. In a class room setting, it would not be fun to observe a nocturnal frog sleeping the entire day away.

I can share my experience with regard to the species of darts I keep. Other members will as well. I'm sure.

What come to mind first is the 12 inches of vertical space, of which is limiting for many dart species.
    How long and wide is your enclosure?

R. imitators ( I have 'Varadero') will need more height, I believe. They love to climb. Be aware as well they are escape artists and should be kept in pairs. I would be very careful with a water area in an imi enclosure.

As for the R. ventrimaculata, I don'rt know ? I don't know if their behavior is different form the imitators.