Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: She should be dead...

ejh805

Default She should be dead...

I'm still relatively new to frogs and had full knowledge of just how dangerous bark chunks are to frogs...
    However, a couple of weeks ago I bought the wrong product in bulk. Upon showing up, I realized I'd bought the wrong thing but could no longer afford the correct substrate immediately. So I replaced my soiled cocofiber with it, thinking the milkies would be fine a couple weeks until my next paycheck.

Please don't chew me out. I have beaten myself up OVER and OVER about this. To any new owners wondering if any amount of time on "bark" substrate is okay, IT IS NOT. I WAS WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG. And my frog SHOULD be DEAD because of it. But by some miracle she is NOT. I am hoping that whatever internal damage was done was not SO SEVERE that she will die slowly.

Name:  IMG_1874.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  47.6 KB

This is a picture of my frog and the piece of substrate she somehow managed to swallow and regurgitate. I noticed something was wrong this morning and gave her a soak. Intending to give her another when I got home for my lunch break, I took her out of her tank and noticed a little piece of something sticking out of her mouth. She was squirming and pulling at it with her feet and opening and closing her mouth, so to help her, I held onto it. She wiggled and squirmed pulling her head back and moved her whole self backwards away from it revealing this huge piece of bark as big as her. Her stomach did not come out as I've read happens. However, after getting the bark out, she swallowed a lot for about 20 seconds then went back to her perky, alert self.

Shes now in a hospital tank in a warm, quiet room. What do I need to do to make sure she is going to live? Something that big in comparison had to do some internal damage I won't be feeding her for several days at least, unless someone advises otherwise.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Canada]