Thread: Hello All new to Frogs/toads need some help

AdamRiggs

Default Hello All new to Frogs/toads need some help

I decided to join this forum because it definitely seems like the most active/helpful that i have found so far. Basically i need a recommendation on what might be the right pet for me. I am new to frogs/toads i currently only have reptiles (2 leopard geckos, 1 albino corn snake). I have had 2 unfortunate gecko deaths lately :-( (liver disease, pregnancy complications), i now have 2 vacant vivs (a 20g long, and a regular 10g).

I am looking for something fairly easy to take care of since this will not be my only pet. I have been looking at the possibility of getting a pacman or a few fire bellies, since these seem like fairly good for ppl new to amphibians. I would like something a little more active so i was leaning towards the FB's but every time i see pics of a pacman i cant help but want 1.

Anyways what do you guys think? Is either of these head and shoulders above the other? Are there any other options i haven't been made aware of in terms of good starters?

Thanks in advance (sorry for the rambling)

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Paul Rust

Default Re: Hello All new to Frogs/toads need some help

Welcome aboard. This is a very helpful and freindly forum. I don't have either of the animals you are considering so I will leave that to someone else. Just wanted to say hi and I know you will enjoy it here!

hyla

Hi! I know what you mean about wanting a pacman when you see pictures of them! I guess they are loved by some, but not a very active frog. I am sure you will be hearing from someone very soon on this!

Kurt

Go with fire-bellies! They are more active, comical, and you can keep more than one per enclosure. They never try to eat each other. Plus, we also have a fire-belly care article written by some wonderful, knowledgable guys. One, in particular, is a genus. LOL

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums