Thread: safe plants, where to buy them?

xboxQueen

Default safe plants, where to buy them?

So I bought a few plants but when I ordered them, I didn't realize how small they were going to be, yeah I'm a newb to all of this, I was thinkin they would be like what you'd find at Walmart, the size of those 5 dollar plants, nope! They are teeny plant clippings with some roots.

Needless to say even by next month, there won't be enough cover for frogs. Where can I order frog safe plants of a decent size? At lease 5" tall with some fullness to them?

Also my mother in law has a bunch plants, she plans on visiting within the next 2-3 weeks, she's going to bring me some clippings of some wondering Jews (2 diff kinds) and a piece of what she thinks is an aluminum pilea, I have one in my viv but its tiny, I figure an extra sprig will help lol. She doesn't fertilize her indoor plants at all, just waters them, so would it be safe to put the clippings right in the tank so they can root right in it?

Has anyone bought plants from eBay? I've seen a few I like but I'm afraid of bugs or fertilizers. As for repotting, I know you get as much of the old potting soil off as possible, replant them but how long does it take until its safe enough to put in a tank? Mind you, I'm a plant serial killer so any and all info about this will help loads n loads. lol but I'm hoping in the viv I can grow something lol..

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: safe plants, where to buy them?

http://www.frogforum.net/plants-plan...ts-online.html

There is this thread that lists a lot of sites to purchase plants from. I ordered a Copper Lady Cryptanthus from Rainforest Flora and it came in a 4" pot. Just look through all the sites until you find a selection you like.

4. This member thanks Sarosaurus for this post:

BonnieLorraine