Thread: Raising ACF tadpoles

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United Kingdom]

Default Raising ACF tadpoles

Can anyone offer any advice on raising african clawed frog tadpoles? Any information at all would be a huge help because I've never done it before. I can only find a few information pages online and they give mixed information.

2 of the tadpoles hatched a week ago today. Most hatched 5 days ago. 10 hatched today, and there's another 10-15 that are about to hatch within the next few hours (I can see the fully-formed tadpoles inside the eggs). The reason they're at different stages is because my male frog was insatiable for a few nights!

Here's what I'm doing so far:

• Temperature - I've got all the tadpoles and eggs in a tub of water which I'm maintaining at around 23 degrees celsius with a heater and thermometer.
    • Food - I can't find powdered egg anywhere (just powdered egg whites, which I'm not sure is suitable?) so I've been feeding the free-swimming tadpoles fish flakes ground to fine powder. I've been adding the powder to a cup of tank water and pouring it into the tank. I'm not sure how much I should be feeding them. I've read online that I should aim to give each tadpole the amount of powder that can loosely cover a 14 point capital O, but it's hard to judge how much this is when you're trying to cater for so many free-swimming tadpoles. I've read elsewhere that the ideal amount will cloud the water and take the tadpoles one hour to clear. Well the flake powder doesn't really seem to cloud the water a noticeable amount, no matter how much I put in, and it rests on the bottom after a few seconds, so I have to keep stirring it back up so that the tadpoles can filter it out of the water. Any advice? Also, some websites say to feed them twice and day and some say once. I've stuck with once for the sake of the water quality.