Thread: Pacman rectal prolapse help!

mintyfresh

Default Pacman rectal prolapse help!

Hi,

I was wondering why my new Pacman frog was acting sluggish, and then I saw what appears to be rectal prolapse (I've read about it). I have zero experience treating anything like this and I am extremely worried. Can anyone help?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

mintyfresh

Default Re: Pacman rectal prolapse help!

*Update* after about a half hour of waiting he is in his water dish, and I don't see anything coming out of him. In his burrow/hole thing he dug I see what appears to be a long poop...is he okay? Is he impacted? I'm hoping and praying he is fine but I don't know

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

There's another thread on here about the same thing not long ago. Griff will comment shortly I'm sure. Basically he pushed that big turd out and his rectum or whatever came out with it. He's not going to be impacted as of now because the turd is out. He may have been. I beleave a warm soak (around 80 degrees) with a few drops of honey will get it to retract.
    Thanks
    DW

Maharg

Im going to formally request that we no longer refer to an 80 degree soak as a "warm soak"
    Its too confusing unless you are keeping your tank under the optimal temperature of 80 to 82 degrees. Lets refer to it as a "warm 85 degree soak", or if you are worried this will somehow shock your frogs system lets refer it to "replacing your water with water thats the exact same temperature as it already is and soak the frog in that. aka a pointless exercise unless the water was due for a change anyway"

Or

"A slightly cool soak"

Nationality
    [Canada]

Quote Originally Posted by mintyfresh View Post
    Hi,

I was wondering why my new Pacman frog was acting sluggish, and then I saw what appears to be rectal prolapse (I've read about it). I have zero experience treating anything like this and I am extremely worried. Can anyone help?