Thread: Total newbie!

lilliemoon5ilver

Default Total newbie!

Hello. I am considering having a frog for the first time! I have long been a fish owner, (in my house there are 4 fish tanks and 2 fish bowls!) but when my 10 gal aquarium became free this past summer I decided I want a LAND animal! I've spent the last several months researching and trying to decide what I wanted to get and I think I'm pretty decided on a Pacman frog. I just love how their size and look! Today I started buying supplies for my terrarium, as I expect it might take some time for me to afford everything I need. I do have some basic set-up questions. 1: Is there a large difference between heat lamps and under-the-tank units? Are there pros or cons to either? 2: If I intend to use live plants should I use something other than coconut fiber substrate? 3: Should I be considering buying a (shallow) waterfall or using an air stone in water for humidity? It gets dry here in the winter, and I usually run a humidifier inside anyway. and 4: Do I need to put the terrarium together beforehand and let it sit for awhile? (We call it cycling with fish aquariums to breed bacteria.)

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Total newbie!