Thread: There's No Frogs...

Erin Bingham

Question There's No Frogs...

Hi, I am new to Frog Forum and have only joined to asked a particular question and learn a little more about frogs.

I walk my dog every evening in the beautiful Speke Hall Grounds, Liverpool. The grounds have large ponds, small lakes, surrounded by woods, fields and some marshy land. I have been going there most days / evenings for a few years and although we have seen many voles, rabbits, herons, buzzards, carp and foxes we have never once seen a tadpole, frog or toad.

Is there any particular reason(s) why frogs or toads would not thrive there?

The ponds / small lakes are filled with Lilly Pads during the summer and there is a lot of wildlife activity in the area. I just do not understand why there are no frogs there.

I thought at first that I may not be looking in the right places or they might hide when they see us coming but I asked a fisherman who is regularly there and he says he doesn't understand it either. He has frequented there for many years and also had never seen a tadpole, frog or toad, although he says there are lots at the other places where he goes fishing.

Can anyone explain this?

Thanks for your help.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

ejh805

Default Re: There's No Frogs...

Frogs and Toads are often indicators of how healthy an environment is.
    Is there any pollution or run-off from polluted areas anywhere nearby?

4. This member thanks ejh805 for this post:

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums