Thread: C.cranwelli and c. Ornata

AMKReptiles

Default C.cranwelli and c. Ornata

Hi every one I'm new to horned frogs and I have a few questions.. First how can you tell the difference between the 2 species? Second what are different morphs on Both species? I see yellow albinos, strawberrie albinos and peach albinos are all this cranwellis or onatas... Samurais are what?
    lol a lot of question I know but I don't want to breed the wrong frogs and end up with a bunch of hybrids/ fantasy..
    pthanks in advance

julio

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Namio

Default Re: C.cranwelli and c. Ornata

To tell Ornate and cranwell's apart, the presence/absence of the "false eyes" located posterior to their eyes is one useful way.

Here's a Ornate horned frog, with the false eyes encircled in yellow.

Below is a Cranwell's horned frog, no "false eyes" present.

But be aware, not all Ornate horned frogs have those "false eyes," although they usually do.
    Also, there are size differences between these two species. Cranwell's are generally smaller than Ornates. Female cranwelli generally ranges betweem 4-5 inches SVL, mature males are 3-4 inches SVL.
    On the other hand, female Ornate can reach 7 inches SVL and male usually tops around 5 inches.

One additional difference is their horns. This is a somewhat subtle trait, however. Cranwell's have horn-projections that are slightly more prominent than Ornates. Ornates probably have the most reduced horn-projection within this genus.

All those morphs (various albino morphs, Samurai, mutant, etc.) that you mentioned are all pure Cranwell's. It is probably because Ornates are harder to breed compared to Cranwell's, for reasons unknown. Perhaps one of the experts on here can answer that question for you.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Namio

To show you the different morphs of Cranwelli, Mike just posted a thread of his beautiful morphs. You should check it out if you haven't: