Thread: Hello! New from Northwest Indiana!!

Miketodd

Default Hello! New from Northwest Indiana!!

Hello there! I am new to amphibians and I am from northwest Indiana. My son came home with a pollywog and we put it in a 10 gal aquarium set up with in tank filter. We had so much fun watching it grow and change. However, it did turn into a tree frog and got out twice. Because of this, we set it free and are now looking for something to fill it's place. So we are looking at buying another Pollywog that is a Leopard Frog (from online). Is it a good idea to buy them from those "nature" websites that advertise the "Grow a real frog"? The otehr idea we have is either turn the tank into a fish tank with some Albino African Dwarf Frogs or else a Newt (fire bellied or paddle tale). My son knows that these are a Don't Touch, Just Look type pet and he still loves them. He gave the tank a hug every night before going to bed when we had "Frog".
    I know this has probably been addressed before, but since we will be near a pet store tomorrow. I just wanted some input. THANKS FROGFORUM!!!

-Mike

Default Re: Hello! New from Northwest Indiana!!