Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help Planting live plants.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Question Help Planting live plants.

I just got my tree frogs (Leptopelis Uluguruensis) a couple of days ago. They are in quarantine at the moment and will be for a while. But I've been working on their permanent home. I would like to plant live plants within their temperature and humidity range (any suggestions?). I've been looking around and decided to just get a small tropical mix from Josh's Frogs. Unless I get any better suggestions.
    My question is concerning the planting of these plants. Should I make a water table in my tank (layered substrate)? Or will they be alright planted right into the substrate with no water table. Or should I just leave them in the pots they come in and water them in their pots?

I've never used live plants before so any help would be appreciated.

Also, if I don't use live plants, what are some fake plants that would be good? Brands and such?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Default Re: Help Planting live plants.

A drainage layer is really a necessity with live plants for a few reasons. Without a drainage layer, whether it be a false bottom or hydroton, after misting and such, the tank will become a bog. The water table allows the soil to drain, saving the roots of your plants from rotting. It also allows you to drain off any excess water.
    You can then plant the directly into your substrate or leave them in their pots. Just remember that if you leave them in their pots, most likely they will become rootbound and you'll have to replant them. Think of it like living in a small box. You would want room to move and so do a plants roots.
    1.0.0 Oophaga Pumilio 'Black Jeans'
    0.0.10 Phyllobates Vittatus
    0.0.3 Phyllobates Terribilis 'Mint'
    0.0.3 Dendrobates Tinctorius 'Patricia'
    0.0.5 Dendrobates Leucomelas
    0.0.2 Dendrobates Tinctorius 'Powder Blue'