Thread: Sad but true

boaman

Default Sad but true

Hello everyone
    This morning on my walk around the lake here there was a guy with three toads in a small plastic carrier. As you can guess he was going to "release" them in the lake because he said he was moving. I am new to FBT keeping and admit i know very little about them,but they wouldnt have had a chance let loose..anyway I put them in a 20 gallon tall tank with some gravel and a water "pool" in it. I plan on going later today and getting a better set up for them. any advise/tips on how to set up a nice suitable tank for them would be appreciated. I keep a neon tank so i had some gravel and some hides/decor already. I will post pics when my gf decides to stop arranging the tank lol.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Lizard Man

Default Re: Sad but true

keeping fbt is easy and you really need a tank thats half water and half land.... the best way i have found is taking a tank divider and cutting it to the height that you want the mulch and water to be and placing it in the middle and half mulch and water.............. making it easy for them to get in water or land with a lamp an hide out and water with a few big rocks in the bottom and mabe a floating dock. . . . . thats the set up i had and they were happy but i also had places to climb but thats mostly a basic set up

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United States]

They're pretty easy. I had mine in a 10 gallon with a few inches of water, with a small filter, and big rocks protruding from the water to make "land". In the beginning, I had live plants, but they tried to climb them and ended up drowning them (the plants), so I went with fake plants from the dollar store. They love crickets!

justsheila

thank you for rescuing them, the frog gods are smiling upon you

boaman