Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Uh oh...

Silverspring47

Unhappy Uh oh...

Hey guys!
    ok...I'm BRAND NEW at having a reptile of any kind... I got my pacman frog, Prince Eric, a few weeks ago. When I bought him, I asked the seller at the Reptile Store how to take care of him. I have a feeling.....he had absolutely NO idea what he was talking about!!!!!!
    my bf got one too at the same time. He feeds his daily, and says he eats 5 a day. Mine would only eat every few days. He found his on his back, the reptile store said it could be stress, or unhappy in his enclosure for different reasons, etc. mine has been fine, but recently stopped eating. I figured he wasn't hungry, or maybe about to hibernate....SO....
    first ill explain his enclosure (which after further research, think they screwed me on!) ... He's about an inch. Bright green! And beautiful. He didn't eat at first, so I'd bring crickets to his nose and get him to eat, but then he started catching em. His enclosure is the small plastic box they had him in at the store... Literally, 6x6x6.... I have no idea what kind of substrate he has, bc the package is clear with no labeling...it's what they gave me. It's light brown and....kinda looks like furry worms. He buries himself in it just fine.
    i was told not to bother dusting the crickets, but after I bought a chameleon, I got calcium stuff for him, and read tht it can be good for frogs, so I used it a bit.
    The reptile guy said to mist him once a week...but that didn't sound right. My chameleon gets misted at least 3 times a day...so, I misted my frog more often than recommended. When I did this, he moved around more.
    until today!
    I got home from work, and he's limp! I can't see him breathing at all! I read online that it could be bc he is breathing thru his skin, going into hibernation, and if you warm him up he'll "wake up"....well since he wasn't eating, this made sense. He wasn't buried tho...