Thread: Used distilled water

jlstacey

Default Used distilled water

I have a female bullfrog that we found injured in early August. We nursed her back to health and she was doing really well. I am new to keeping amphibians, so I'm trying to do it right, but seem to be getting the water thing wrong. Initially, I used dechlorinated tap water. I was doing full water changes every 3 days or so because the water would get so dirty. Then I got bacteria bloom, and I realized that I should be doing small water changes. At the same time, we got advice from someone that they used spring water. I had some distilled water, so I thought it would be fine. Ummmm...now I realize it isn't. Her color has turned darker, and she's spending a lot of time out of the water. She also seems lethargic. I'm about to dechlorinate tap water, but how do I change the water? Full change? I have no substrate for her, nor a filter. Should I get this stuff? I didn't buy it initially because I didn't know if she would survive. We now are quite attached to Boo Boo (her name)! Please help!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Pluke

Default Re: Used distilled water

Any water that isn't dechlorinated or spring water should be fully removed from the tank and replaced with dechlorinated or spring water. I hear zoo med reptisafe is a good dechlorinator. Personallly, I use spring water but thats because I have well water. I would use that but I don't want to take any chances.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Quote Originally Posted by jlstacey View Post