Thread: Northern Green Frog

Justonian

Default Northern Green Frog

I want to keep a Northern Green Frog because I am a beginner in keeping frogs as pets and Green Frogs are very hardy animals. I wanted to know what kind of setup I would need to house a sub-adult Male Green Frog. I would also like to know what to feed it and any other extras that could be useful. I was going to catch a wild one for my tank as there is one in my pond.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Northern Green Frog

Quote Originally Posted by Justonian View Post
    I want to keep a Northern Green Frog because I am a beginner in keeping frogs as pets and Green Frogs are very hardy animals. I wanted to know what kind of setup I would need to house a sub-adult Male Green Frog. I would also like to know what to feed it and any other extras that could be useful. I was going to catch a wild one for my tank as there is one in my pond.
    Well, I think the best would be to get a very large plastic box, which are easier to clean than an aquarium. An aquarium will also work, but you will want to have a hose to siphon the water and you will need to change it frequently.
    They are partially aquatic and spend alot of time in the water so a terrarium that is mostly water with a small landing area would be best. I would use a very large RUB (really useful box) and put several inches of dechlorinated water in it, and then position a large peice of driftwood or something it could sit on to dry off. It really wont spend much time on any sort of land but a 50/50 land water terrarium may work well. They need to be kept somewhat warm, so a low wattage incandescent neodimium bulb should be used during the day.
    They eat nightcrawlers, crickets, small fish (avoid goldfish) and a calcium&D3 supplement should be used.

If there is one in your pond, it may stick around, maybe that would be easier. But otherwise, they do well as captives.