Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Do you need a lid for you tank?

  1. #1
    AroseK
    Guest

    Talking Do you need a lid for you tank?

    I'm getting a Pacman frog tomorrow. I have basically everything i need just i don't have a lid or a light. My house stays at 76 anyways. Also do i wet all the substrate or just the side that has the water bowl? Any other advise would be great to. Thanks!

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
     

  3. #2
    dpcsquid
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Wet the substrate, but be sure to use water that has been treated with a water de-chlorinator. You should definitely get a lid; I've heard of escape stories, but in addition, it will help protect your frog in case something falls on top of the cage, or you have a pet like a cat. Also, you'd be surprised how high crickets can climb up plants when they really want to!

  4. #3
    trkyhntr
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    house being at 76 is not warm enough, need UTH mounted on side or back of tank. Cover will help keep humidity up. It needs to be around 80% at all times. Substrate should be damp but not sopping wet throughout entire tank
    Last edited by trkyhntr; July 26th, 2012 at 08:25 PM. Reason: more info

  5. #4
    AroseK
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Do you think i should get one of those heat pads you put under the tank?

  6. #5
    trkyhntr
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Quote Originally Posted by AroseK View Post
    Do you think i should get one of those heat pads you put under the tank?
    absolutely then mount it on the side NOT underneath

  7. #6
    AroseK
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Sorry about the title of this thread should have paid more attention to my grammar.

  8. #7
    Moderator GrifTheGreat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Nationality
    [United States]
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    9,686
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Despite their chunky chubby appearance these are still frogs and frogs jump. As a matter of fact adults have powerful legs and can jump well over 3 to 4 times their length and up to 10 or 12" in the air. Get a lid.


  9. #8
    trkyhntr
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Quote Originally Posted by GrifTheGreat View Post
    Despite their chunky chubby appearance these are still frogs and frogs jump. As a matter of fact adults have powerful legs and can jump well over 3 to 4 times their length and up to 10 or 12" in the air. Get a lid.
    there's something i'd like to see

  10. #9
    100+ Post Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Nationality
    [United States]
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    396

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    The first frog i ever owned escaped once cause i thought its ten gallon wouldnt need a lid. I found it behind my dresser, lookin like a ball of lint. It was fine after a soak, but yeah. Get a lid. Walmart usually has a cheap $8 one, you dont need a light. And yeah, get an under tank heater and place it one the side.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator Heatheranne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Nationality
    [United States]
    Location
    Erie, Pa
    Posts
    8,236
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

    Default



    This is a pic of my little stinker...just thought I'd share. He can and did jump out of his play pool the other day. Of course I was supervising, so I just rinsed him and put him back in. The pool wall is 12".

    My big pac occasionally climbs over her plants, mostly knocking them down, but it does allow her to gain an extra 2".

    Be sure to place a lamp or something to hold it down on top. They're strong.

    https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203589094112277&id=1363241107&set =a.1434844115446.2055312.1363241107&source=11&ref= bookmark

  12. #11
    AroseK
    Guest

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    I got my frog today is it ok to put a towel over it for now until i get a lid or would that be a bad idea

  13. #12
    100+ Post Member DVirginiana's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Nationality
    [United States]
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,091

    Default Re: Do you need a lid for you tank?

    Quote Originally Posted by AroseK View Post
    I got my frog today is it ok to put a towel over it for now until i get a lid or would that be a bad idea
    I put a towel or scarf over mine even with a lid leaving a corner uncovered so she can get fresh air. It helps with stress if three sides of the tank are covered. Try and get a lid ASAP though... I wouldn't want to keep a towel over the entire tank with no ventilation.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tank setup- what to put on the tank walls?
    By Ebenezer Frothingham in forum Pacman Frogs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 7th, 2014, 10:27 AM
  2. Diseased frog in tank for 1 month+, is tank safe for inhabiting again?
    By BettaShawn in forum Vivarium, Terrarium & Enclosure Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 29th, 2012, 07:05 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 7th, 2012, 06:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •