Thread: Painted Turtle Ques.

emfroggy

Question Painted Turtle Ques.

Hello last night me,my brother,and his girlfriend went to my uncles house and they have a big pond on their property so we went to go get frogs and we also caught a painted turtle. Right now he is in a ten gallon tank but we found out it is too small for him.So we are wondering how big of a tank he needs. We are thinking a 20 gallon long will work.Do you guys think it will work? The turtle is only about 7inches maybe a little bigger. Im not good with measurements but I think that's what my brother said he was. Also what all do we need in the tank. We know that he needs water,a rock to sit on,a screen lid,and some fake plants. We also think he needs a UVB light bulbs. Is that true? Also does he need a heater with the UVB light bulb? Last if you think we need anything else please comment here soon because the pet store opens here soon and we will be going when my brother and his girlfriend are ready. Thanks. I'll also have pictures of him up here soon.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

newbiefrogger12

He will need a 75 gallon tank now(the rule is 10 gallons for every inch of shell ie. 5 inches 50 gallons of water space). I suggest getting him some reptomin for food. Yes he does need a uvb and also a heat. He needs a basking spot. He also needs a filter but tuetles need a filter for double the tank size so he will need a filter for 150 gallons. The water shuld be like 75 degrees so a heater is reccomended. If you cannot get all this I suggest letting him go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

emfroggy

Default Re: Painted Turtle Ques.