Thread: Hey there from Austin TX

Jlkelly88

Talking Hey there from Austin TX

Hey everyone. I am from Austin TX. I am an artist and I have a zoo at my house. All reptiles, amphibians, and arachnids though. I am allergic to fuzzy things. I found this forum after I picked up a toad from the local pet store. He is a Suriname Toad I was told. I can not find much info on him online. But I think I found his scientific name... Smooth-sided toad (Bufo guttatus).

I have him in a 20 gallon long for now on some compressed coconut fiber. He seems like he is doing fine on it. I need to pick up some dechlorination drops from the store tomorrow before I can put his water dish in the tank with him.

I am assuming he is wild caught, he was at the store with two other females. I wanted to get a pair but I decided against it because I do not know much about this specific toad or how to breed them. If anyone has any info on these guys please let me know. Is it easy to breed them? Should I even attempt? I am contemplating going back for a female.

Also, I have my eye out for some Amazon Milk Frogs, Mossy Frogs, Tomato Frogs, and Pixies.

Looks like an awesome forum with a lot of good information.

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Hey there from Austin TX

Welcome to the forum. I like Austin a lot. And there's great fieldherping around there. Your toad requires the same care detailed in the "Toad Basic Care" article linked on the left of every page on this site. They like it somewhat warm though and don't let them get cold in the winter. They're not easy to come by so if you do want that female then get her now or you might not have another chance ;(. They are wild caught, unfortunately. I'd love to see photos of your frogs and toads please .
    Founder of Frogforum.net (2008) and Caudata.org (2001)

Jlkelly88