Thread: Getting my first FBTs

Allistor

Default Getting my first FBTs

I'm new to amphibians but not to reptiles and have wanted to either start a small aquarium or get some FBTs, but decided with the toads instead! I hope to get them within the week, maybe even tomorrow if I can, but I have a few questions. First, does this setup look OK? It's a 10 gallon, and I used a 2-10i tetra submersible filter, hidden in the back left behind the fake plant. I have some aquarium plant bulbs (Hybrid Aponogeton, from one of the packages at the pet store. I'm not sure how well they grow but I thought I'd give it a shot?) in the rocks that are growing, and the rocks and log I had gotten from outside a long time ago and use to be in my leopard gecko's tanks, but were eventually taken out and put in storage, and I washed with them hot water and put in the oven for an hour and a half before putting them in. The light is just my desk light that I positioned over the top for a brighter picture, but I read they do not need additional heat unless the room is cold. My room stays around 70-72, but if they need a heat lamp I can get one for them.

There's about 3 inches of water. It's a tiny bit foggy but that's from the rocks, I washed them off but they still had a bit of dust/dirt on them that I couldn't easily get off. The filter is cleaning it out as I type, I took those pictures several minutes ago after starting the filter. It's beginning to look very clear now